Giving Thanks

On this, the day of giving thanks, here’s my list.

10. Mommy’s sippy cup

9. half & half in my coffee

8. I don’t live in Arizona

7. My bed, comfy blankets, and my fan

6. My ipad. As much as I am anti-Apple, it has pretty much replaced my desktop computer. Special thanks to Paprika

5.Food Inc. – watching it opened my eyes and I’ve been unable to close them ever since.

4. My job. I work in the most amazing school, with the most amazing staff that anyone could hope for. I actually had a nightmare once that I was leaving Prairie and I still remember the ache that put in my heart. I am so grateful to have the best, most fulfilling of jobs. Working where I do, I am triply blessed: I can always count on my colleagues for support, both professionally and personally; my students can be counted on to make me laugh and prove to me that I’m making a difference (love them!); and I am constantly amazed at how much the Prairie family has contributed to the lives of my own children. They flourish thanks to each and every staff member. Thank you.

3. My friends. I am someone who does not make or take friends lightly. As a result, I have many acquaintances, but far fewer “friends”. Luckily, the friends I have are incredible. I know that I can always pick up the phone (or the text, or the IM) and whether it’s been an hour, a week, or a year we can always catch up just where we left off. We don’t feel insulted when life makes us too busy to get together often and we aren’t burdened when life makes us lean on each other more. I love you all.

2. My family. I have the most amazing children. They are the loves of my life and the reason I breathe. After living away from “home” since the age 18, my parents left their comfortable life in California and moved five minutes away from me. Now, both the kids and I have the gift of having Grandpa and Grandma in our daily lives. I lean on them more than I should…and they spoil my kids more than they should. It’s probably an even trade. My sister and I are closer than we have been since we were kids (when she would let me hang out with her, four years older than me, and make me feel “cool”) She has shown me what individual strength means and she’s raised the best two nephews anyone could ask for – they have grown up to be fine young men. My brother and sister-in-law are the most wonderful couple I have ever known. Alone, they are both fantastic people, together, they complete each other in the best of ways. Kiko makes John a better man and John…makes Kiko dinner. 🙂 My kids adore them…and I do, too.

1. My life. It has it’s share of rough moments, particularly in the past year, but as I sit here this morning, in a (still blissfully) quiet house, I can take stock of all I have. I live in a beautiful home and have more than enough to eat. I have an amazing network of family and friends. I have a job that I love and that pays the bills. I don’t have to worry about healthcare for myself or my family. I live in a country where I am free to express my opinion and where people are willing to serve to make sure that freedom continues. In short, despite all the…crudiness…that daily life throws at us, for me, life is good. And for that, I am thankful.

As I finish up my cup of coffee (with half and half) and look forward to day filled with the fulfilling work of cooking a feast, the smells that tempt the senses, and a table of delicious food to share with the people I love…I am thankful.

To all my blog friends, I hope today is as wonderful for you as I know it will be for me. Thank YOU for all you have contributed to my life. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment